Archive for » October, 2016 «

Stop by tonight in your costume!

book-jack-o-lantern

Happy Halloween from the Library!

Share
Category: General  Comments off

Who’s ready for the NBA?

mgsk4ixridqqm-rh2xqpxyg

Share
Category: General  Comments off

Nov issue of Western Horseman out today

subscribe

Share
Category: General  Comments off

Need ideas?

craft-ideas-fall-2016-1    craft-ideas-holiday-2016    grit_nd16_cover-jpg

Share
Category: General  Comments off

New magazines out today

s-l1600    0000-2    2940042844720_p0_v1_s192x300

Share
Category: General  Comments off

Audiobooks worth checking out…

51a2tbt9x-l-_sx258_bo1204203200_      41ehvtsp0ul-_aa300_      41n5hxd8u3l-_sx431_bo1204203200_      512ttj6iml

“Security” by Gina Wohlsdorf.  When the gleaming new Manderley Resort opens in twenty-four hours, Santa Barbara’s exclusive beachfront hotel will offer its patrons the ultimate in luxury and high-tech security. No indulgence has been ignored, no detail overlooked. But all the money in the world can’t guarantee safety. As hotel manager Tessa and her employees ready the hotel for its invitation-only grand opening, a killer is in their midst. One by one, staff are picked off with ruthless precision. And before the night is over, as Tessa desperately struggles to survive, it will become clear that the strangest and most terrible truth at Manderley is simply this: someone is watching.

*********************************************

“Eligible” by Curtis Sittenfeld.  “A modern retelling of Pride and Prejudice. Eligible, equal parts homage to Jane Austen and bold literary experiment, is a saga for the twenty-first century, brilliant, playful, and delicious. This version of the Bennet family is one that you have and have not met before: Liz is a magazine writer in her late thirties who, like Jane, her yoga instructor older sister, lives in New York City. When their father has a health scare, they return to their childhood home in Cincinnati to help; and discover that the sprawling Tudor they grew up in is crumbling and the family is in disarray. Kitty and Lydia, youngest sisters, are too busy with their CrossFit workouts to get jobs. Mary, the middle sister, is earning her third master’s degree online and barely leaves her room. And Mrs. Bennet has one thing on her mind: how to marry off her daughters. Enter Chip Bingley, a doctor, handsome and new-in-town, who recently appeared on Eligible, the juggernaut reality TV dating show. Chip, at a Fourth of July barbecue, takes an interest in Jane, immediately, but Fitzwilliam Darcy, who is Chip’s friend and neurosurgeon, reveals himself to Liz to be much less charming. And yet, first impressions can be deceiving.”   –Container.

*********************************************

“My Name is Lucy Barton” by Elizabeth Strout.  Lucy Barton is recovering slowly from what should have been a simple operation. Her mother, to whom she hasn’t spoken for many years, comes to see her. Gentle gossip about people from Lucy’s childhood in Amgash, Illinois, seems to reconnect them, but just below the surface lie the tension and longing that have informed every aspect of Lucy’s life: her escape from her troubled family, her desire to become a writer, her marriage, her love for her two daughters. Knitting this powerful narrative together is the brilliant storytelling voice of Lucy herself: keenly observant, deeply human, and truly unforgettable.

**********************************************

“Salt to the Sea” by Ruta Sepetys.  “For readers of Between Shades of Gray and All the Light We Cannot See, bestselling author Ruta Sepetys returns to WWII in this epic novel that shines a light on one of the war’s most devastating — yet unknown — tragedies. World War II is drawing to a close in East Prussia and thousands of refugees are on a desperate trek toward freedom, many with something to hide. Among them are Joana, Emilia, and Florian, whose paths converge en route to the ship that promises salvation, the Wilhelm Gustloff. Forced by circumstance to unite, the three find their strength, courage, and trust in each other tested with each step closer to safety. Just when it seems freedom is within their grasp, tragedy strikes. Not country, nor culture, nor status matter as all ten thousand people — adults and children alike — aboard must fight for the same thing: survival. Told in alternating points of view and perfect for fans of Anthony Doerr’s Pulitzer Prize-winning All the Light We Cannot See, Erik Larson’s Dead Wake, and Elizabeth Wein’s Printz Honor Book Code Name Verity, this masterful work of historical fiction is inspired by the real-life tragedy that was the sinking of the Wilhelm Gustloff — the greatest maritime disaster in history. As she did in Between Shades of Gray, Ruta Sepetys unearths a shockingly little-known casualty of a gruesome war, and proves that humanity and love can prevail, even in the darkest of hours. – Publisher.; “As World War II draws to a close, refugees try to escape the war’s final dangers, only to find themselves aboard a ship with a target on its hull”– Provided by publisher.

 

Share
Category: General  Comments off