How about a movie for this weekend?

91fg4rfs4ql-_sy550_      918rih8lg7l-_sy550_

Share
Category: General  Leave a Comment

New Audiobook

511FjMo8C9L

“The Summer before the War” by Helen Simonson.  Bestselling author Helen Simonson returns with a splendid historical novel full of the same wit, romance, and insight into the manners and morals of small-town British life as her beloved “Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand.” It’s the summer of 1914 and life in the sleepy village of Rye, England is about to take an interesting turn. Agatha Kent is expecting an unusual candidate to be the school’s Latin teacher: Beatrice Nash, a young woman of good breeding in search of a position after the death of her father. Agatha’s nephews, meanwhile, have come to spend the summer months, as always, both with dreams of their own. When Hugh is sent to pick up Beatrice from the train station – life, of course, changes. Here, these characters and others we come to love and root for become characters we hope and pray for when the shadow of the Great War looms ever closer to home.

Share
Category: General  Leave a Comment

Find this one in the New Books section…

61MBasfoH0L

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY BOOKPAGE, BOOKLIST, AND ELECTRIC LITERATURE • ALEX AWARD WINNER • LOS ANGELES TIMES BOOK PRIZE FINALIST • LONGLISTED FOR THE BAILEYS WOMEN’S PRIZE FOR FICTION

For readers of The Tiger’s Wife and All the Light We Cannot See comes a powerful debut novel about a girl’s coming of age—and how her sense of family, friendship, love, and belonging is profoundly shaped by war.   –from amazon.com

Share
Category: General  Leave a Comment

New books out today…

41omlaOsyXL      51CDsm5KOhL

Share
Category: General  Leave a Comment

Books available to help you through all stages of life…

41omlaOsyXL      41Pi0XSyMCL

“Boundaries with Teens” by Dr. John Townsend.  Excerpt from Page 10: “You may have an adolescent who, as a preteen, was more compliant and easier to connect with.  Or perhaps you saw seeds of trouble in your child’s preteen years, only to watch those seeds sprout when adolescence hit.  Or maybe your child doesn’t seem that much different, just bigger and stronger.  In any case, it all points to the reality that parenting teens is not like patenting at any other age, because children change dramatically during their teenage years.”

***********************************************************************

“From One Widow to Another: Conversations on the New You” by Miriam Neff.  “”Widow” is one title women do not want. But according to the Surgeon General’s office, 800,000 people become widows or widowers yearly in the United States alone. And when this happens, every aspect of life changes—like it or not, ready or not.  These changes add to the emotional roller coaster that most women experience after losing their husband. Miriam Neff understands the ride. As she struggled to understand and accept her new role after her husband’s death, she recognized the need for women to hear from others about their experiences and what helped them transition to this new stage of life.  From One Widow to Another offers practical advice for those facing the loss of a spouse. Drawing from her own loss, Neff walks with the reader through practical issues to a sense of encouragement.”

 

Share
Category: General  Comments off

Fall issue of “Craft Ideas” is out…

craft-ideas-fall-2016

Share
Category: General  Comments off