Thursday’s Second Thought…

“For anyone living west of the Mississippi in 1912, the biggest news that fateful year was not the sinking of the Titanic. Nor was it Pancho Villa’s brazen raid into New Mexico and the killing of several U.S. citizens. Instead, it was a violent escape from the Nebraska state penitentiary planned and carried out by a trio of notorious robbers and safe-blowers. In the early spring of 1912, two black prisoners undertake an escape from the Nebraska state penitentiary but fail after an informant betrays them. When the deputy warden is stabbed and killed, throwing the prison into chaos, three white convicts carry out their own prison break. With guns of unknown provenance, Charles Morley, John Dowd, and Charles Taylor shoot their way out of Lancaster Prison, killing the warden and wounding his brother in the process. Hunted by three hundred lawmen across the Nebraska plains through a blinding snowstorm, the outlaws invade homes (demanding food, horses, and silk handkerchiefs) and kidnap a young farmer, to the horror of his pregnant teenage bride. What happens next, who gets shot, and who gets hanged are both tragic and thrilling–and set the stage for a modern American jurisprudence and prison reform, ending forever the era of hang-’em-high justice.”  -from amazon.com  Non-fiction.  “The Last Posse” by Gale E Christianson.  Checks out for 2 weeks.

Share
Category: General  Leave a Comment

Monday’s Magazines

       

Mother Earth News. April/May 2017 issue.  Includes articles on the organic fertilizers, building an outdoor oven, homemade salad dressings, and DIY wind generator –with the amount of wind we have had lately, this may not be a bad idea! : ) — and more.

Country Sampler.  May 2017 issue.  Includes articles on creating a potting bench, ways to organize your kitchen and cozy home tours.

Magazines check out for seven days.

Share
Category: General  Leave a Comment

Tuesday’s Tempting Book

“It Ends with Us” by Colleen Hoover.

“As I sit here with one foot on either side of the ledge, looking down from twelve stories above the streets of Boston, I can’t help but think about suicide.  Not my own.  I like my life enough to see it through.  I’m more focused on other people, and how they ultimately come to the decision to just end their own lives.  Do they ever regret it?  In the moment after letting go and the second before they make impact, there has to be a little bit of remorse in that brief free fall.  Do they look at the ground as it rushes toward them and think, “Well, crap.  This was a bad idea.”   —from Page 3 of “It Ends with Us’ by Colleen Hoover.

Books check out for two weeks… (but of course you can always renew it if needed).  : )

Share
Category: General  Leave a Comment

Monday’s Magazine

Food Network Magazine  –  April 2017

Magazines check out for seven days.

Share
Category: General  Leave a Comment

Monday’s Magazine

“Mary Janes Farm” February-March 2017 issue.

New magazine to the Library… Ideas for simple and healthy living; recipes; suggestions for projects that showcase rural craft techniques, advice for gardening and tips for decorating.

Magazines check out for 7 days.

Share
Category: General  Comments off

Tuesday’s Tempting Book

Nina Redmond is a librarian with a gift for finding the perfect book for her readers. But can she write her own happy-ever-after? In this valentine to readers, librarians, and book-lovers the world over, the New York Times-bestselling author of Little Beach Street Bakery returns with a funny, moving new novel for fans of Meg Donohue, Sophie Kinsella, and Nina George’s The Little Paris Bookshop.

“Losing myself in Jenny Colgan’s beautiful pages is the most delicious, comforting, satisfying treat I have had in ages.”—Jane Green, New York Times bestselling author of Summer Secrets

Nina Redmond is a literary matchmaker. Pairing a reader with that perfect book is her passion… and also her job. Or at least it was. Until yesterday, she was a librarian in the hectic city. But now the job she loved is no more.

Determined to make a new life for herself, Nina moves to a sleepy village many miles away. There she buys a van and transforms it into a bookmobile—a mobile bookshop that she drives from neighborhood to neighborhood, changing one life after another with the power of storytelling.

From helping her grumpy landlord deliver a lamb, to sharing picnics with a charming train conductor who serenades her with poetry, Nina discovers there’s plenty of adventure, magic, and soul in a place that’s beginning to feel like home… a place where she just might be able to write her own happy ending.    –from amazon.com

Share
Category: General  Comments off